A neighbor stopped by the other day, outraged, because she saw a wheat alert on an organic sugar package. How great that people without Celiac disease or wheat intolerance are becoming aware of the prevalence of wheat in our food supply on our behalf!
That said, I believe that many companies put the caveat of “May contain wheat” at the end of their lists of ingredients to simply protect themselves from lawsuits. Personally, if the ingredient list does not specifically contain a gluten ingredient, I do not worry about eating the product, even if the label indicates manufacturing on wheat-shared equipment. If I did, I would never eat anything, because almost all products now include this disclaimer. Rarely do I get stung. However, each of you must make this call for yourselves.
Here is the info from the sugar label that upset my neighbor.
- Company: Rapunzel
- Product: Organic Whole Cane Sugar (Unrefined & Unbleached)
- USDA Organic – Hand to Hand Fair Trade Program
- Ingredients: Organic unrefined whole cane sugar. *May contain wheat.
I do not find this alarming and would use the product without a second thought.